Karen Stuart Honored as 50th Assembly District’s “Woman of the Year”

Tuesday, March 13, 2018

SACRAMENTO – On Monday, March 12th, Assemblymember Richard Bloom (D-Santa Monica) honored Karen Stuart, Executive Director of the Association of Talent Agents, as the 2018 “Woman of the Year” for the 50th Assembly District.  

Stuart has represented artists and talent agencies as a labor negotiator and strategic planning professional for over twenty-five years.  As Executive Director of the Association of Talent Agents, she leads over one hundred and forty talent agencies in California, Georgia, and New York.

“Karen Stuart has shown exemplary leadership in an industry with far too few women in executive positions,” said Assemblymember Bloom. “She is also working to combat sexual harassment and gender discrimination in the entertainment industry.” Stuart, through her work with industry partners and advocacy on legislative and regulatory issues, has helped keep her member agencies nimble and adaptive to the ever-evolving role of talent agents.

Karen Stuart receiving her resolution on the Assembly Floor. Standing with her are Assemblymembers Bloom, Dahle, Eggman, and Rendon. In addition to her leadership at the ATA, Stuart was recognized for her efforts to end sexual harassment and discrimination in an industry where misconduct sparked the powerful 2017 #MeToo movement. Stuart currently serves as a Delegate on the Commission on Eliminating Sexual Harassment and Advancing Equality in the Workplace, chaired by Anita Hill. She will also chair an upcoming ATA Sexual Harassment Prevention and Training Session designed to explore best practices and equip talent agents to better support their clients who may be experiencing harassment.

 “Leadership from women in key positions of power, like Ms. Stuart, is critical to making workplaces safer and fairer for women. Her vision and commitment to her work will benefit the artists and professionals working in my district and across the state,” said Assemblymember Bloom. 

Richard Bloom Chair’s the Assembly Budget Subcommittee on Resources and Transportation and represents California’s 50th Assembly District, which comprises the communities of Agoura Hills, Bel Air, Beverly Hills, Brentwood, Hollywood, Malibu, Pacific Palisades, Santa Monica, Topanga, West Hollywood, and West Los Angeles.