Latest News

Funding for San Bernardino Area Rail Project Approved by the California Transportation Agency

Sacramento – Yesterday the California State Transportation Agency (CSTA) announced the approval of a grant of $30,000,000 for the San Bernardino County Transportation Authority (SBCTA) from the Transit and Intercity Rail Capital Program (TIRCP).  The grant was awarded for a pilot program to deploy a Zero Emission Multiple Unit commuter rail vehicles on the Redlands Passenger Rail Corridor in San Bernardino.  With this funding SBCTA and the region will be national leaders in the deployment and testing of near zero and zero emission commuter rail trains.  This announcement co

Legislation to Protect Disadvantaged Communities from Unhealthy Development Passes First Committee

Sacramento –Yesterday, the Assembly Committee on Natural Resources passed AB 2447(Reyes - San Bernardino), a bill that ensures that residents of disadvantaged communities can provide input on expanded land uses in their neighborhoods that impact health and housing opportunity.  AB 2447 puts in place noticing and public outreach requirements for the development of non-residential projects likely to create negative environmental or health impacts in disadvantaged communities.

Stone and Reyes Introduce Measure to Extend Tax Credit to More Poor Working Households

SACRAMENTO -- Assemblymembers Mark Stone (D-Monterey Bay) and Eloise Gómez Reyes (D-San Bernardino) have jointly introduced Assembly Bill 2066 to reduce poverty amongst working Californians and to boost local economies.  The measure extends the California Earned Income Tax Credit (CalEITC) to families and individuals currently ineligible for the credit, including low-income youth, seniors, and immigrants without Social Security Numbers.

Diana Rodriguez Honored by State legislature as Woman of the Year

Sacramento – Earlier this week, Assemblymember Eloise Gómez Reyes honored Diana Rodriguez of San Bernardino as the 2018 District 47 Woman of the Year. Presented by the Legislative Women’s caucus, the Woman of the Year award recognizes women from all over the state for accomplishments in their respective fields and for their dedication to improving the lives of others in conjunction with Women’s History Month.